On the Road

Christmas Tree Skirt

We took a day to do nothing while staying near Asheville so that hopefully I would recover from this nagging cold.  I didn’t sew much but I did spend an hour or so this evening working on my Judy Neimeyer Christmas Tree Skirt.  I have half of it completely finished.  The other half just needs the outer arc stitched onto the pie shapes.  I should definitely have it done before we get back home to Texas in early July.

I might like to make another one of these one day with different fabrics.  I would change a couple of things . . .  I used four different gold on white backgrounds.  I would probably use the same light-colored background for the whole skirt.  The multi-colored batik that makes up most of the skirt should have a little more interest.  I love the fabric colors but I think it could be better.  Lastly, I would probably put a little more variety into the flying geese and triangles – maybe four or five different fabrics would be better.

Don’t get me wrong – I still love it but I feel like I rushed the fabric choices when I was preparing for this trip.

Leave a comment